Bioré UV Perfect Spray: Too Good to Be True?

bioresunscreen

Note: the reviewed product may not be cruelty-free.

“As a human being ages gracefully, a human being realises the importance of sun protection.” – Stacey Reviews

As I begun my search on the next cruelty-free sunscreen protection, I turn my focus today on the Biore UV Perfect Spray. Yes, I am aware that I have been going on a sunscreen spray frenzy because #lazygirlsyndrome is real.

Plus, I’ve bad experiences with tackiness that comes with cheap sunscreen when I was younger: you know those childhood memories of basic swimming lessons, and your mum beckons you to splatter on sunscreen all over your body, and on top of feeling every darn muscle strain with swimming, you have to bear with the ickiness that comes with your sunscreen? (*coughs* Banana *coughs* Boat)

Yeah… one of those not-so-pleasant childhood memories… and swimming lessons, quite frankly. I was born a mermaid, I don’t need swimming lessons to be honest. Unless you’re training me to become the next Joseph Schooling, which I am not quite interested to be.

PACKAGING

img_8403

Like the L’Oreal Paris UV Advance Aqua Essence Skin Mist that was previously reviewed, the Biore UV Perfect Spray comes in a sturdy blue aluminium bottle that boasts 50g worth of product. It comes with a sturdy pump dispenser, and the plastic cap shuts snugly around the rim of the bottle.

WHAT IT CLAIMS

 

img_8404
I may be an Asian, but I sure as hell can’t read Japanese. However, being effectively bilingual in Mandarin and English, I could read that you could keep this unopened for 3 years, and some words highlighted in red stated that you’ll have to shake the product 4 to 5 times before using it, and also cautioned against spraying over a certain body area for more than 3 seconds.

 

The product claims to be a “convenient aerosol spray-on for easy, fuss-free application on the body, face and hair“. It also claims that it is an “ultra lightweight texture that feels invisibly light on skin”. However, there was no mention on how long the sunscreen wear would be.

WHAT IT IS

True to its claim, it was an “easy peasy shake, spray, and ready to go” type of application that took less than 5 seconds. It sports a light floral scent which I love, and it feels so light on my face and body that I could hardly believe that I had actually applied anything!

Honestly, it would take a UV detector to actually convince me that I had bought a sunscreen spray, else it really feels too good to be true. Yet, I still believe that it is definitely the “ultra lightweight texture” that it had claimed to be, and I am seriously loving this product. It’s however, not very convenient to bring on-the-go, it is pretty bulky: about 19cm in length, and 8cm in width – go figure.

I usually do not want to waste apply sunscreen over my body, but I did bring this product with me during my 3D2N Outward Bound Camp (OBS) and applied it both on my face and body. I have also shared this product around with my friends who are in need of a quick and easy sunscreen application.

The transparent mist also has a cooling effect, which is really awesome. I have no problems applying it over a full face makeup. It dries down almost instantaneously. As I have probably repeated over a million times in this post: you’ll probably not be convinced that you had sunscreen on!

With a once-a day usage, it lasted for about three months, which is super great for its price.

WOULD I REPURCHASE IT?

I would definitely repurchase it, only if I could be sure that Biore is a cruelty-free brand. There have been conflicting information around the internet – some of the cruelty-free sources had mentioned that Biore is a cruelty-free brand owned by a parent company (Kao) which is not, while others mentioned that Biore conducts animal testing in China anyway.

I am also not sure why, but it seems like this product has been discontinued, or is in the process of being discontinued. Which is quite a pity, as this has immense potential to become a Holy Grail in my sunscreen category. I have not done my due diligence by going round supermarkets, as Biore is usually readily available at the beauty sections of larger supermarkets, such as Giant and NTUC Fairprice.

At this point of writing, it seems that local drugstores are still selling them online, such as Guardian.

I think this is the perfect sunscreen spray for everyone – affordable, fuss-free, non-oily.. it seems too good to be true?!

Unbelievable.

PRICE: $

It retails for SGD$9.90 and is available at Watsons, Guardian, major supermarkets and selected departmental stores.

OVERALL GRADE: A

Leave a Reply

