My First Ever Sunscreen: L’Oreal Paris UV Advance Aqua Essence Skin Mist

loreal

Note: the reviewed product is not cruelty-free.

I’m just like one of you out there who has problem-free skin and thinks slapping sunscreen on our faces is just a chore some dermatologist has made up. One fine day, I was surfing YouTube as usual when I came across this advertisement…

Then I thought to myself, hey, this looks pretty damn fast, and UV rays seem pretty damn harmful – I should grab this and give this a good try. This spiralled my journey into the use of sunscreen. Regretfully, I’ve thrown my spray bottle last week because I’ve finished using it, but I thought I should just share my quick thoughts on this product anyway.

PACKAGING

It comes in a sturdy blue aluminium bottle which feels too light to believe that I’m getting SGD$20+ worth of sunscreen. It comes with a decent pump dispenser, and the cap shuts snugly around the rim of the bottle.

WHAT IT CLAIMS

The product claims to be L’Oreal’s first UV mist for face, and that it is a 12-hr UV protection. It also claims that it is non-sticky, waterproof, and boasts fast application.

WHAT IT IS

When I first used the L’Oreal Paris UV ADVANCE AQUA ESSENCE SKIN MIST OMG LET THIS BE THE LAST TIME WRITING THE PRODUCT TITLE IN FULL.

Okay back to what I was saying, I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it really was to apply the product on my face! It took about 3 seconds, and although I had expected to smell something bad (I was referring to that horrid gassy stench that’s typical of spray cans), it didn’t smell bad at all.

However, I immediately noticed that after about a minute or two into its application, my skin felt slightly greasy. This is usually negligible for me, but on very humid days, I noticed myself giving a second thought from using this product.

I like to apply this on top of makeup, and it is definitely sweat-proof as it had claimed to be.

The mist is transparent, and although it does feel watery, it eventually dries down on your face.

I did not use it everyday, but mine lasted for about six months, which is pretty great for its price. For a better gauge, I would say that my frequency of use borders on three times a week, and about twice a week if I’m feeling lazier.

WOULD I REPURCHASE IT?

I’m still new to my sunscreen game, and I would like to experiment with other cruelty-free options before I decide. For about SGD$20 for 6-months of fuss-free sunscreen application with no gassy stench to endure, I would say I would definitely repurchase it. In fact, I did consider re-purchasing this product just to take some photos for this entry, but I feel strongly against brands who test on animals.

And if you have (very) oily skin, I’ll suggest you stay away from this one.

PRICE: $$

It retails for SGD$22.90 and is available at WatsonsGuardian, SASA, major supermarkets and selected departmental stores.

OVERALL GRADE: B+

One thought on “My First Ever Sunscreen: L’Oreal Paris UV Advance Aqua Essence Skin Mist

Leave a Reply

